# ST. MARK'S UNITED METHODIST CHURCH CONFERENCE

AGENDA October 30, 2022

OPENING Mark Hensler, Lay Leader

When we gather together for fellowship, for worship, for visionary and administrative tasks... **God is with us.** 

When we are apart at home, far from home, lost, or found...

#### God is with us.

When we are questioning many things and when we are faithful in many things, hearing the call of Christ to follow, to lead others to follow, to baptize and to teach...

#### God is with us.

Here and now, we gather with gratitude and faith to do this day's work, trusting that "the best thing of all is that

God is with us.

INTRODUCTION OF PRESIDING ELDER BY PASTOR JOE -- The Rev. Patricia Matthews

LAY LEADERSHIP NOMINATIONS (see pages 4&5) Nominations Committee Joe Payne, chair.

Recommendation: to elect nominated persons (in red) to their respective administrative positions.

Motion from Nom./Lay Leadership Comm. (does not require a "second.") Discussion Vote

# **MEMBERSHIP CARE**

#### **Inactive Professing Members -- First Reading**

Professing Members who have been inactive from in-person or online attendance, or have not contributed their time or finances in the previous twelve months.

Tre'el Edmundson Bob Knau

Malakie Edmundson Gregory Kuertz
Sarah Hard Cherie Kuertz
Jerry Hartwig Erin Theodor

**Gail Hartwig** 

#### **Inactive Professing Members – Second Reading**

Professing Members who have been inactive from in-person or online attendance, or have not contributed their time or finances in the previous 24 months

Sheila Boggs Heather McDaniel

Aidyn Edmondson Don White
Cherie Kurtz Barbara White
Barb Lowry Norma Cox

Ted McDaniel

Recommendation: move members in Second Reading to Inactive (Baptized Member) Roll

Motion from Pastor Joe Second Discussion Vote

### **Roll Call of Departed Saints**

Jean Bennett 11/19/1923 – 11/17/2021 Mary Kay Bowling 9/13/1935 – 3/24/2022

Joan Streckfuss 8/18/1931 – 12/12/2021 Dale Shreve 6/9/1943 – 6/1/2022

Richard Brewer 3/27/1936 – 1/5/2022 James Beckett 9/2/1934 – 6/1/2022

Richard Brewer 3/27/1936 – 1/5/2022 James Beckett 9/2/1934 – 6/1/2022 Maryada Millspaugh Dollie Gallihugh 8/9/1942 – 6/7/2022

9/21/1925 – 1/12/2022 Richard Broshear 12/18/1945 – 6/27/2022

Robert Netherland Ginny O'Dell 8/9/1942 – 6/6/2022

10/11/1932 – 2/17/2022 Phyllis Tunning 12/3/1928 – 10/8/2022

Byron Jones 7/3/1944 – 2/26/2022

Prayer for the Saints Rev. Patty Matthews

#### PASTORAL COMPENSATION PACKAGE RECOMMENDATION Jennifer Rinker, SPRC chair

Cash Salary \$59,500. The same as the 2022 salary, per the pastor's request. Accountable Reimbursement (to cover ministry expenses) – no more than \$6000 Housing Allowance Exclusion – no more than \$3000 from salary

Motion from committee (does not require a "second." Vote

# RECOMMENDATION CONCERNING SALE OF CHURCH PROPERTY Jennie Marshall, Trustees chair Recommendation #1

of Trustees to sell the half-acre lot located at 4660 Anthony Wayne Ave., Fairfield, OH (see photo). Rationale: St. Mark's UMC purchased this lot in May of 1996 with the intention for future growth and expansion, especially parking. We currently have 152 parking spaces and no foreseeable need to add any more. Since that time, we have done almost nothing with the lot except to mow it. The value of the lot, per Butler County Auditor site, is \$37,830. Suggested listing prices from realtors have ranged from \$50,000 -\$65,000. The trustees will secure the services of a realtor and list the property

To authorize the St. Mark's UMC Board



St. Mark's UMC Trustees intend to use the proceeds of this potential sale of property to assist us in funding upcoming major repairs and maintenance projects, with the primary focus on updating the church bathrooms (become ADA compliant), replacing the aging roof, and updating the parsonage bathrooms.

Motion from Trustees (does not require a "second.")

Discussion Vote

## Recommendation #2 (If Recommendation #1 is passed)

To approve the names of the individuals who will officially sign paperwork pertaining to the listing and sale of 4660 Anthony Wayne Avenue:

Jennifer Marshall, Chair of Trustees William Schumacker, Co-Treasurer

Motion from Trustees (does not require a "second.")

Discussion Vote

ANY ADDITIONAL BUSINESS

for \$62,500.

CLOSING PRAYER Patty Matthews

(Patty, Bill, Lynne, Jennifer R., and Julie D. please remain to sign the Signature Page)

2023 Leadership (Nominations are	in Rad)		
Administrative Council	in Redj		
(*Non voting member)			
Chair Person / Lay Leader / Lay	Mark Hensler		
Mem. Annual Conference			
Children and Family Ministries	Sue Luken		
Care and Nurture	Pam Guynes		
St. Mark's Cares Representative	Charlotte		
	Tierney		
SPRC Chair	Jennifer Rinker		
Finance Chair	Gale Goodman		
Co-Treasurers	Bill & Lynne		
	Schumacker		
Trustee Chair or Rep (Elected by			
Comm.)			
Members at Large:	Charlotte		
2023	Tierney		
2024	Dave Booker		
2025	Steve Nguyen		
Staff Representatives	Peggy Smith*		
	Julie Mislansky*		
	Chris Beiser*		
	Pastor Joe*		
Nominations and Leadership			
Development			
2023	Cheryl Kemen	Debbie Bryant	
2024	Sue McDaniel	Beth Ewald	Pat Sena
2025	Sue Beckett	Marilyn Stewart	
	Pastor Joe,	Mark Hensler,	
	Chair	Lay Lead.	
Staff/Parish Relations			
2023	Jennifer Rinker, Chair	Suzan Stracke	Tom Tierno
2024	Pam Brockfield	Susan Bunte	
2025	Rick Kiefer	Kyle Robinson	
	Pastor Joe*	Mark Hensler,	
		Lay Lead.	

Finance Committee			
2023	Bob Pittman	Don Menke	
2024	Gale Goodman, Chair	Eric Leyrer	
2025	Julie Dichtl		
	Ruth	Lynne & Bill	
	Ritenbaugh,	Schumacker,	
	financial	treasurers	
	secretary		
	Pastor Joe	Mark Hensler,	
		Lay Leader	
Trustees			
2023	Rich Turner	Jennie Marshall	Marlis Hatton
2024	Matt Snyder	Tonya Leguina	
2025	Bill Dichtl	Penny Dole	Kristy Theis
	Pastor Joe*		
Boy Scout Organization Rep.	Peggy Smith		
St. Mark's Cares:	Children Youth Family Ministries	Nurture and Care	
Kym Nguyen & Tari Randall, Co- Chairs	Peggy Smith	Pam Guynes, chair	
Charlene Miller	Julie Mislansky	Patty Coyle	
Charlotte Tierney	Tari Randall	Tomie Osullivan	
Debbie Bryant	Cindy Miller	Cindy Booker	
Sue Luken	Lauren Dichtl	Marilyn Stewart	
Dianne Aiken	Charlotte Tierney	Marlis Hatton	
Lynne Schumacker	Sue Luken, chair	Sue Beckett	
	Debbie Bryant	Judy Klingel	
		Lois Hill	
		LOIS HIII	